Unexplained Happiness

Posted: August 29, 2010 in aMusing, Human Nature
Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday evening I found myself saying “I’m so glad you had fun!”. A second later I realized that I had uttered that statement, involuntarily; with some instinctive spontaneity that I don’t think I’ve exhibited anytime recently. Not that I was involved in anything ‘fun’, ‘exciting’ or anything adjectively exhilarating at that instant. Another thing that struck me was the genuine heartfelt happiness in it, maybe even uncontrolled. Not the kind of momentary happiness that you feel when an acquaintance tells you of their promotion or passing an exam or anything else that is ‘casual’.
How many times have you found happiness in someone else’s? It’s an awesome feeling to have. It’s one of those many rare occasions that come-by in one’s life but not so remembered for the rest of it. Happiness takes moments to AWESOMENESS !! Such happiness too leaves you desiring for nothing else; much like the happiness gotten from achieving something or in celebration! I don’t want to go give it too much thought, trying to figure out what the reason for the happiness could be. I’m just happy at this moment and that’s how I want it to be even if short lived.

Ben Stiller [as Simple Jack in Tropic Thunder(2008)]  – You m-m-m-mmm-m-make me happy.

~~~~~ Calvin and Hobbes ~~~~~

Calvin N Hobbes - It's hard to argue with someone who looks so happy.

Ever felt this way? Share the experience !

Comments
  1. Rohit says:

    good point made, people seldom try to seek happiness in someone else’s joy. Its a good thing to do and it doesn’t really take a lot of effort (for sane people only 😛 )

Leave a Reply

